Excerpts of this 2011 blog post:

“A few times a year I open up the newspaper when I have my first cup of coffee in the morning and I see that another customer of mine is gone. This morning it was a large law firm. Let’s see, the first translation job I did for them was in ……. the Spring of 2000. I remember now, it was a big one. I had to hire another translator to help me with it because it was a rush and it still took us a couple weeks. So I move the file of the company from my filing cabinet for “active” files to a much bigger cabinet for “non-active” files. The “non-active” one is twice as big but I can’t fit anything in it any more. ”

“Companies come and go. Translators, at least freelance translators, have a way of staying where they were when another customer of theirs bites the dust.”

“So what can I put my trust in as a patent translator? Well, I think that it is safe to assume that people will continue coming up with new designs for things that they use, such as cell phones and microwave ovens, and that they will keep filing patents for these new designs.”

“I do know that somebody will have to translate all those patents for new gizmos filed in German, Japanese, French and other languages for as long as people keep inventing new things and threatening to sue each other for infringement of patents (and usually settling before a trial).

And it might as well be me since that is what I have been doing for the last 24 years anyway.

So that is what I am putting my trust in now instead of putting my trust in people.”.

Read this full blog post at: https://patenttranslator.wordpress.com/2011/04/16/companies-may-come-and-go-translators-are-here-to-stay/

